PDA

View Full Version : Liar Loans a Felony in Texas



Soapboxmom
07-07-2010, 08:53 AM
Scammers in Texas should beware:

32.32. FALSE STATEMENT TO OBTAIN PROPERTY OR
CREDIT. (a) For purposes of this section, "credit" includes:
(1) a loan of money;
(2) furnishing property or service on credit;
(3) extending the due date of an obligation;
(4) comaking, endorsing, or guaranteeing a note or
other instrument for obtaining credit;
(5) a line or letter of credit; and
(6) a credit card, as defined in Section 32.31 (Credit
Card or Debit Card Abuse).
(b) A person commits an offense if he intentionally or
knowingly makes a materially false or misleading written statement
to obtain property or credit for himself or another.
(c) An offense under this section is:
(1) a Class C misdemeanor if the value of the property
or the amount of credit is less than $50;
(2) a Class B misdemeanor if the value of the property
or the amount of credit is $50 or more but less than $500;
(3) a Class A misdemeanor if the value of the property
or the amount of credit is $500 or more but less than $1,500;
(4) a state jail felony if the value of the property or
the amount of credit is $1,500 or more but less than $20,000;
(5) a felony of the third degree if the value of the
property or the amount of credit is $20,000 or more but less than
$100,000;
(6) a felony of the second degree if the value of the
property or the amount of credit is $100,000 or more but less than
$200,000; or
(7) a felony of the first degree if the value of the
property or the amount of credit is $200,000 or more.

Acts 1973, 63rd Leg., p. 883, ch. 399, 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1974.
Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 900, 1.01, eff. Sept. 1,
1994; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 14.50, eff. Sept. 1, 1995;
Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1245, 3, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.


Section: Previous 32.02 32.03 32.21 32.22 32.23 32.24 32.31 32.32 32.33 32.34 32.35 32.41 32.42 32.43 32.44 Next
Last modified: August 11, 2007


Felony Penalty
Capital Death or life in prison without parole
First-degree 5 to 99 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
Second-degree 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
Third-degree 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
State jail 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of not more than
$10,000
Misdemeanor Penalty
Class A Not more than 1 year in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than
$4,000
Class B
Not more than 180 days in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than
$2,000
Class C A fine of not more than $500

Soapboxmom

Soapboxmom
07-09-2010, 08:24 AM
I found a great blog about mortgage fraud here (http://www.mortgagefraudblog.com/). One never knows when one of our most wanted scammers may end up on it!

Soapboxmom

Soapboxmom
07-12-2010, 05:45 PM
The loan becomes a felony when the money changes hands and the victim can file criminal charges with the local police. I had a lovely chat with a detective in Texas just today. Anyone who is making a false statement on any loan papers better think twice. Just $200,000 or more for a loan with fraudulent papers is a first degree felony. Yikes!

Good luck!

Soapboxmom