PDA

View Full Version : How to Rebuff the MLM "Sales Pitch"

Emet
07-03-2010, 11:33 AM
Anyone who has ever been approached to join a multi-level marketing company, knows how persistent (and sometimes persuasive) these people can be.

Here's one good way:

I am a Certified Public Accountant and have done hundreds of tax returns for all types of businesses over the last 12 years. During that time, I have done many, many MLM business tax returns. Over that 12 years and hundreds of tax returns, how many of those MLM “opportunities” made money? Only one…and it wasn’t a lot. The best part is when they try and sell me the opportunity. No thanks, the people making the money are the ones who own the MLM companies
The perfect comeback to a MLM pitch is this. Tell them you are always willing to look at investment opportunities, but you treat all opportunities the same. What you require is three years of tax returns to verify the kind of income this business will generate. (If you were to buy a business, your banker would ask for the same thing before you were loaned money, so it is a perfectly reasonable request) Tell them if the tax returns prove they are making the kind of money that they claim, you will seriously look at the opportunity.

I have used this line many times, and no one has taken me up on it. I will stick with investing in real businesses and rental property thank you.

Now, they may tell you their tax returns don’t show the type of income because the opportunity is “tax efficient”. That means you lose money…..

Here's another (http://www.epinions.com/content_1108320388).

fastmoney
07-03-2010, 01:57 PM
Well that is hard to say.. Show me tax your returns is a negative way to answer.. Most people cannot do it..

I have been pitched pleanty of times in my life, I have always said the same variation of what I am going to tell you here.