PDA

View Full Version : The Network Marketing Paradox

Doc Bunkum
04-24-2012, 09:02 AM
An interesting conundrum a reader on BetterNetworker presents. One I'm sure many thousands upon thousands that have been beguiled by the false promises of MLM have also faced.

The Network Marketing Paradox (http://www.betternetworker.com/forums/sound-off-f11/the-network-marketing-paradox-t28898.html)

I’ve been toying with sharing an idea for probably 9 months now... a conversation to liberate those who need a graceful way out of network marketing. Hmmm?

Hmmm? is right - this sounds promising!

You see, my wife and I spent 10 years in network marketing never making enough money to cover our autoship. We worked and studied, trained and applied ourselves but enrolled only a very few short-lived people. It was a tough realization, but I finally had to admit to myself that I wasn’t going to be a 5% network marketer; it just wasn’t going to turn out way I thought it was going to. The question became how to come to peaceful terms with ten years and thousands of dollars – gone?

Don't feel alone, Rick, you're not. Your upline will tell you that you just didn't buy enough tools or attend enough conventions.

Relentlessly, this quote echoed in my brain – “Winners never quit and quitters never win.” “Winners never quit and quitters never win.” I didn’t want to be labeled as a quitter, which is the equivalent in my mind to being a loser. No way was that going to happen. So, like staying in a bad marriage just for the sake of the kids, we continued to work and work and work.

Uh, oh!

I understood the full impact of not making any money and I had lost any motivation for what I was doing. I thought network marketing was the finest business model on the planet but when I looked hard at it, best business model or not, it made no sense to continue any longer.

If only you had realized that 10 years sooner...